Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I adore the way today’s project turned out! I’m thinking of keeping it up in my room permanently I like it so much. 🙂 Today I will be showing you how I did my flying keys. If you remember from book one, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s (Sorcerer’s) Stone. One of the tasks Harry had in order to reach the stone was to find a particular flying key.

So I thought it would be cool to make some of my own flying keys! The hardest part was finding keys to use. I wanted something substantial, so I wanted metal keys. Something big enough but not too big. I searched high and low for the right keys. Amazon, craft stores, local Facebook groups, I searched them all for a rather long time but was unsuccessful in finding a large enough amount of keys that didn’t cost an arm and a leg. I finally had a friend point me to some on Ebay that I thought might work. You just gotta have a little imagination because they looked like this when I got them.

Keys Before

They were not a pretty sight but the key (pun intended) is to look past the present state and picture what the final product could look like. Since these keys were so rusty, I bought some Rustoleum primer just to seal them and prevent further rusting. I made sure to sand (and wipe) them down before using the primer just to have as clean a surface as possible to start with.

Keys PaintedThen I spray painted them gold, silver and bronze. It’s amazing what a little paint can do! They look so amazing now! It can be hard to imagine what a finished product might look like but that’s essential for re-purposing projects. Imagining what something could look like once you’re done with it.Key Wing Pictures

After I finished sprucing up my keys, I began work on the wings. I found some pictures of wings that I liked. I chose a few different designs just to keep things interesting. Once I got them to the sizes I thought would look best with my different sized keys, I printed them out.

I thought wax paper would be good for this but I knew just one piece wouldn’t be stiff enough to stand out like wings. So I took some clear crafting glue and glued three sheets together. Once the glue had dried I traced the wings with a gold and silver sharpies.

Key Wings 2Key Wings Done 

 

 

 

 

After cutting them out I hot glued them to my keys. I also tied some fishing line to the keys and hot glued that as well.

Keys Almost Finished

My final dilemma was how to hang the keys. I wasn’t keen to hang them all individually. I’ll most likely be doing that for my “floating candles” so I didn’t want too many things that would need hanging separately.

I took a trip to one of my favorite places, Joann Fabrick’s to see what I might use to help me hang them. That’s when I spotted this!

Wire Circle for Flying Keys

It’s actually for making wreaths but I thought it would serve my purpose quite nicely. It’s the twelve inch one, I thought it would make a good size for my project and it was only $3! A little less with my coupon. 🙂 You gotta love all those coupons they do at Joann’s. I have saved so much.

I attached the fishing line to the wire circle and once they were in spaced where I wanted them, I hot glued them into place. Tied it up to a hook and hung it up. Then sat back and admired my handy-work (*pats self on back). But look how pretty it is!

Keys Finished Keys Finished 3