Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Letter from Hogwarts

This next project was a fun one, ok, they’ve all been pretty fun. I loved the way this one turned out.

Stamp Box 2 Stamp Box

To start, I found this stamp set on Etsy. It’s a popular stamp and you can find it both on Etsy and Ebay. When I purchased it, it was cheaper on Etsy. Just be weary of the shipping time, a lot of them had really long shipping times so make sure to order this long before you need it.

I also plan on using the stamp later for the invitations. I will be saving the wax for the invitations (since it’s pretty expensive) so I needed something inexpensive to use for the envelopes (since I planned on making about 50 of them and you wouldn’t really be seeing them up close like you would with the invitations) that would still resemble the wax appearance.

Sculpey Clay Red and WhiteI found some Sculpey clay (the kind you can bake in the oven) at Walmart for just under a $1. I bought a whole bunch of red and a couple packs of white (for another project I’m working on).

I tore off a small piece and balled it up, then pressed it with my stamp. You will just have to experiment to get the size you want. I had to make it a bit thick to keep it from tearing when I pulled the clay off the stamp. Just play around with it and see what works best for you.

I repeated this step about 50 times and laid them on wax paper (the instructions said the clay could stain and I didn’t want stained cookie sheets) covered cookie sheets and baked them according to the directions. Actually I baked them quite a bit longer, I read somewhere that the color would darken the longer you baked it. Mine did but yours may not so just be sure to watch it. I wanted it a bit darker so it would be more of a maroon color then a bright red.

Stamp up closeHere’s a close up of the finished product! I was really happy with how they came out! The details came through really well for such a small stamp. That was definitely something I was worried about. I’m excited to see how it looks with the wax later on. 🙂

After baking my seals and letting them cool, I prepared my envelopes. I used the “Harry Potter font” you can download for free HERE. And made the address from the book:

Mr. H. Potter
The Cupboard under the stairs
4 Privet Drive
Little Whinging, Surrey

Stamp Finished EnvelopesAfter printing the labels on the front of the envelopes I aged them. To see how to make paper look older, check out my post on making your own Daily Prophets.

Once they were pressed, I hot glued the seal on. While the glue was still liquid, I stuck the line in that I would later be using to hang them. I used fishing line, you can also use invisible thread the color of whatever will be behind where you hang this. Fishing line is a bit shiny and catches light so the darker thread might be a better option. I took some pictures with mine and it turned out ok so it’s really up to you.

Envelopes and supplies

For the frame, I purchased dowel rods and made a rectangle about four feet long and a little over a foot wide. I also put supports along the rectangle about eight inches apart. Here’s where you can learn from my experience, make sure your dowels are thick enough to support the weight but not too thick that it makes the whole apparatus too heavy. I tried really thin rods at first because I wanted a nice, light-weight frame. I had it all hot glued together and painted black with a bunch of the envelopes tied to it when I realized it wasn’t strong enough to hold its form.

I had to hoopty rig it (that’s why I didn’t show you a picture of the frame) it’s not very pretty but it’s functional and it’s the part that won’t be seen in the pictures so I didn’t re-do it. But I’m telling you this so you don’t make the same mistake I did. Get dowel rods that are at least 1/2 an inch in diameter, those seemed to be thick enough.

I tied my envelopes on at various heights and then hot-glued the knots and the line to my frame to keep them from slipping. Then I was done! Here’s the finished product. Perfect back drop for your Harry Potter Party pictures.

Envelope backdrop completed