Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Special Potions JarSo this idea actually came from watching an episode of Torchwood. As a nod to Dr. Who, Captain Jack Harkness had the 10th doctor’s hand in a jar with bubbles. I thought that something like that might look cool for the potions set up I am working on. So I thought long and hard about how I might go about doing something like that.

I thought it would be cool if I could make a hole near the bottom of a large jar and pump air into it that way. So I did a little research and some trial and error and figured out a way to get it done.

You need a special drill bit to cut through glass. Home Depot has them, they cut glass and tile and it wasn’t that expensive, like $6 maybe? Once I had my bit, I practiced on a smaller jar that I had a lot of. I’ve been collecting glass jars for over a month now and have quite the collection. It worked on the smaller jar so I moved on to my large jar. Broken Jar

That one didn’t go so well.

I was almost done when it cracked in half and I sliced my leg. Yowza!

But I didn’t give up. I toughed it out and tried again… After I ate a whole new jar of pickles of course. Now I love pickles as much as the next girl but sweet baby Moses that’s a whole lotta pickles.

Here are some suggestions that I think helped when I finally succeeded in drilling a hole in my second large, glass jar. The first part was, I left the lid on the jar. I think it helped add stability to the jar and keep it from cracking. The other thing I did was put some painter’s tape around where I was going to drill. I don’t know if one or both of these things contributed to my success but I thought I’d share them with you just in case.

After I finished drilling the hole I sealed my tube in with special putty. You will need to find a sealer that works “below the water line.” You don’t want to go through all this trouble only to have your jar spring a leak. Most caulk isn’t made for below the water line, which seems a little counter-intuitive since it’s used often for showers and tubs. But you’ll notice that the caulk line isn’t actually submerged so yeah, make sure to check that your sealer will work under water. Once that’s dry completely you can test it out.

Next I purchased a little mechanism (I call it a spliter because I don’t remember the real name for it) made for air tubes for fish tanks along with an air pump also for a fish tank. The spliter hooks up (by tube) to the air pump and then has two separate places to hook up tubes so you can supply air to two tubes from one pump. I got the spliter because I have two jars and I wanted the option of being able to hook up both. I also put an air-stone on the inside of the jar just to disperse the air a bit more.

Then I pondered what to put in it. When I was in Walmart picking up my fish tank items, that’s when I saw them and knew they would be awesome! They were these cool looking jellyfish that attached by strings to suction cups. I stuck them to the bottom of my jar and put some pebbles in the bottom and my grand idea was complete.

The fact that they glow under black-light was icing on the cake. I plan on having other potions that react to black-light as well so it was such a great find. I was thrilled with how well it turned out.

What do you think?